National News

Back to News

Superb golf played at the NSW Maccabi Championships!

Posted: 01-Nov-2018 by Golf

Talented golfers and great conditions ensured an excellent 2018 Championship! 

109 players were entered in the Sandersons Rushcutters Bay NSW Maccabi Golf Championships played at Monash yesterday. Good weather, a course in superb condition and some very talented golfers conspired to deliver a successful championship. 

The A Grade stroke play championship to determine the NSW Maccabi Golf Champion quickly developed into a two horse race between five time champion Trevor Sidley and two time and defending champion, Jeremy Fuchs. Both played some super golf with Trevor finally prevailing, shooting 74 and 71 for a one over par winning total of 145 to beat Jeremy who finished 6 over par on 150. Trevor's sixth title leaves him three behind all time leader Roy Vandersluis who has nine Maccabi Champions' Titles to his name.

The A Grade Stableford winner was Nick Odze with 39 points, proving that pure golfing talent can outweigh practice - its been reported that this was only Nick's 5th game of golf this year making his victory an all the more remarkable achievement. Runner up in A Grade was Trevor Sidley with 37 points. Nick's score was also good enough on a countback to win the Brett Levien Memorial trophy for the best stableford score of the day.

B grade was won by Russel Marx with 39 points, continuing his fine Maccabi form after making 42 points in the teams event at Maquarie Links a few weeks ago. Russel's score was also good enough to win the Senior Stableford trophy where the definition of senior this year was changed to 60+ due to the age demographic of the field. Runner up in B Grade was Gary Levin who beat Josh Persky on a countback with 35 points.

C Grade winner was, new to golf Derek Blumberg with 36 points. Given Derek's relative time in the game, this is a great result. Runner up was perennial Maccabi stalwart, Marty Knespal on 35 points.

The Ladies field was a little depleted this year due to the close proximity of the Queens Cup, being played as we speak on the Central Coast. Nonetheless, Glenda Gordon shot an impressive 37 points to win from defending champion Dianne Kendler who had 36 points.

Automatic qualifiers for the NSW President's Cup team by virtue of their results yesterday are Trevor Sidley, as NSW Maccabi Golf Champion, Nick Odze, Russel Marx and Derek Blumberg as A, B and C Grade champions and Josh Persky as the highest finisher in the 30 years and under category. Should any of these players be unavailable for the Cup, their spots will be offered to the highest finisher in their category.

So all in all, a great time was had by all. Thank you to all who entered  and welcome to those who played in the the championships for the first time. For those who didn't play this year, we hope to see you all back next year for an even bigger and better event.


NSW Maccabi Golf Committee

(photos below courtesy of AJN)

Maccabi Life - Loyalty and Rewards Launched
Maccabiah Games 2022


Sign up for our newsletter to get the latest news
Select your State: